Go to top of page

iTunes scam text messages spreading malware

Priority Level: 
Moderate
8 February 2016

Malicious individuals are reportedly sending scam text messages claiming to be from Apple’s music service iTunes to a large number of people. The message is believed to claim the recipient’s iTunes account has been frozen and asks them to click on a link to ‘validate their [iTunes] account’.

However, people who click on the link are exposing their phone to malware that may be used to steal personal or financial information.

If you receive one of these messages, you should advise the Australian Cybercrime Online Reporting Network and delete it. Do not click on any links included in the message.

If you do inadvertently click on such a link, advise key service providers such as banks, private companies and government agencies, and change all usernames and passwords associated with your accounts. Ask your service providers to monitor your accounts for evidence of suspicious activity.

In addition, you should confirm that all operating systems and applications are up to date, and you are running the latest security software.      

If you are unsure about activity associated with your iTunes account, log in directly to the official Apple iTunes website and check for any alerts or messages there.

More information

Stay Smart Online has information on staying secure when using mobile devices and on scams prevalent on the internet.